Item added to your cart.

Death Song
The Black Angels
Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 21, 2017

All orders come with an instant grat download of “Currency." Double Vinyl LP comes with Deluxe Gatefold Sleeve, sticker and poster, and includes Digital Download Card (High Quality 320 kbps MP3). CD comes with sticker and poster.

Death Song is the first full-length release in four years from The Black Angels – Austin’s five-piece psych rock masters – and their debut for Partisan Records.

Written and recorded in large part during the recent election cycle, the music on Death Song serves as part protest, part emotional catharsis in a climate dominated by division, anxiety and unease. “Currency,” a strong contender for the heaviest song the band has ever put to wax, meditates on the governing role the monetary system plays in our lives, while slow-building psychedelic earworm “Half Believing” questions the nature and confusing realities of devotion.

Recorded between Seattle and Austin, Death Song features production from Phil Ek (Father John Misty, Fleet Foxes, The Shins). The 11-track collection offers a sharply honed elaboration on their signature sound – menacing fuzz guitar and cutting wordplay, steeped in a murky hallucinatory dream.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 01 Currency Buy

    01 Currency

  2. 2 02 I'd Kill for Her Buy

    02 I'd Kill for Her

  3. 3 03 Half Believing Buy

    03 Half Believing

  4. 4 04 Comanche Moon Buy

    04 Comanche Moon

  5. 5 05 Hunt Me Down Buy

    05 Hunt Me Down

  6. 6 06 Grab as Much (as you can) Buy

    06 Grab as Much (as you can)

  7. 7 07 Estimate Buy

    07 Estimate

  8. 8 08 I Dreamt Buy

    08 I Dreamt

  9. 9 09 Medicine Buy

    09 Medicine

  10. 10 10 Death March Buy

    10 Death March

  11. 11 11 Life Song Buy

    11 Life Song

The Black Angels

The Black Angels

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences