Item added to your cart.

Joy as an Act of Resistance.
Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 31, 2018

Joy as an Act of Resistance. is available on CD, limited edition pink vinyl LP, standard black LP and deluxe LP. Deluxe vinyl LP details: →Joy as an Act of Resistance. pressed on 180g black vinyl →Interchangeable album artwork: 8 double-sided inserts, featuring 16 original art prints from the Joy as an Act of Resistance Exhibition →Gold glitter die-cut, gatefold jacket

Joy As An Act Of Resistance is a parade.

It’s a parade of laughing at the funeral, of listening to the bastards, of phlegm on the mirror. It’s a parade of my Grandfather’s wit, it is all the shit haircuts I’ve ever had. It is a parade of naivety, of a warm embrace, it is Young Thug’s dress. It’s the parade of being carried through the grim dark. It’s a parade of laughing at yourself. It is love. It is loving yourself. It is a parade of Tony Benn’s smile. It is Idles, for now. It’s the beautiful smell of immigrant food. It is a parade of vulnerability. It is Ilie Nastase It’s a parade of being at your worst. It is our best, for now. It is our thank you. It is our sorry. It is a parade without fluff but with a tonne of glitter and violence. It is a parade of what I truly miss and what I truly have. It is a parade of the second album. It is us cutting it’s fucking head off. It is a parade of joy in the face of all we don’t want and all we fear. It is a parade of you.

Thank You. (Joe Talbot, IDLES)

Joy as an Act of Resistance. is the follow up to Bristol, UK 5-piece IDLES's debut album Brutalism, self-released last year.

Produced by Space and mixed by Adam Greenspan & Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Kate Bush, Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Joy as an Act of Resistance. takes aim at everything from toxic masculinity, nationalism, immigration, and class inequality - all while maintaining a visceral, infectious positivity. Singer Joe summarizes: “This album is an attempt to be vulnerable to our audience and to encourage vulnerability; a brave naked smile in this shitty new world. We have stripped back the songs and lyrics to our bare flesh to allow each other to breathe, to celebrate our differences, and act as an ode to communities and the individuals that forge them. Because without our community, we’d be nothing.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Colossus 5:39 Buy


  2. 2 Never Fight A Man With A Perm 3:48 Buy

    Never Fight A Man With A Perm

  3. 3 I'm Scum 3:09 Buy

    I'm Scum

  4. 4 Danny Nedelko 3:24 Buy

    Danny Nedelko

  5. 5 Love Song 3:05 Buy

    Love Song

  6. 6 June 3:35 Buy


  7. 7 Samaritans 3:30 Buy


  8. 8 Television 3:12 Buy


  9. 9 Great 2:44 Buy


  10. 10 Gram Rock 2:28 Buy

    Gram Rock

  11. 11 Cry To Me 2:24 Buy

    Cry To Me

  12. 12 Rottweiler 5:25 Buy



View More


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences