Item added to your cart.

Everywhere We Looked Was Burning
Emel Mathlouthi
Partisan Records
Release Date
September 27, 2019

Emel Mathlouthi’s new album, Everywhere We Looked Was Burning, marks the first time she sings almost entirely in English after previously only recording a handful of tracks in the language. The choice was informed by settling in New York with her family, discovering the “essential imagery” of poets Rainer Maria Rilke, T.S. Elliot, and John Ashbury, and “thinking back to how music in English was so important to me growing up.” She initially rented a house in Woodstock, NY and set off to “write about nature as well as the beauty and struggle of these times.” She ventured into the world around her and spent hours recording the woods, wind, water, and fire. In the studio, she matched this earthly choir with homemade synths, keys and percussions. She was joined by producers Steve Moore [Zombi] and Ryan Seaton. Chris Tabron and Marta Salogni were brought in to mix.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Rescuer Emel Mathlouthi 5:09 Buy
  2. 2 Footsteps Emel Mathlouthi 3:31 Buy
  3. 3 Womb Emel Mathlouthi 4:55 Buy
  4. 4 Wakers of the Wind Emel Mathlouthi 4:11 Buy
  5. 5 Merrouh Emel Mathlouthi 4:17 Buy
  6. 6 This Place Emel Mathlouthi 5:04 Buy
  7. 7 A Quiet Home Emel Mathlouthi 4:44 Buy
  8. 8 Ana Wayek Emel Mathlouthi 3:58 Buy
  9. 9 Does Anybody Sleep Emel Mathlouthi 4:49 Buy
  10. 10 Everywhere We Looked Was Burning Emel Mathlouthi 4:36 Buy

Emel Mathlouthi

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences