Item added to your cart.

Sylvan Esso
Sylvan Esso
Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 13, 2014

Sylvan Esso was not meant to be a band. Rather, Amelia Meath had written a song called “Play It Right” and sung it with her trio Mountain Man. She’d met Nick Sanborn, an electronic producer working under the name Made of Oak, in passing on a shared bill in a small club somewhere.

As 2012 slipped into 2013, Sanborn and Meath reconvened in the unlikely artistic hub of Durham, N.C., a former manufacturing town with cheap rent and good food. Sylvan Esso became a band.

A year later, their self-titled debut—a collection of vivid addictions concerning suffering and love, darkness and deliverance—arrives as a necessary pop balm, an album stuffed with songs that don’t suffer the longstanding complications of that term.

These 10 tunes were realized and recorded in Sanborn’s Durham bedroom during the last year, an impressive feat considering the layers of activity and effects that populate them—the dizzyingly crisscrossed harmonies of “Play it Right,” the gorgeously incongruous elements of “Wolf,” the surreptitiously minimalist momentum of “HSKT.” Sanborn’s production is fully modern and wonderfully active. He enlists obliterating dubstep stutters and crisp electropop pulses, hazy electrostatic breezes and epinephrine dancefloor turnarounds. But this isn’t a workout in production skills or a demonstration of electronic erudition. Instead, his music syncs seamlessly with Meath’s melodies, so that the respective words and beats become a string of ready-to-play singles.

The irrepressible “Hey Mami” webs handclaps and harmonies around a flood of bass, a strangely perfect canvas for a tale of dudes hollering at neighborhood tail (and, finally, finding the chivalry not to do so). “Coffee” sparkles and quakes, patiently rising from a muted spell of seasonal affective disorder to a sweet rupture of schoolyard glee. These pop cuts condescend neither to their audience nor their makers.

They are sophisticated, but with none of the arrogance that can imply; they are addictive, but with none of the banality that can entail. There is sensuality and sexual depravity, homesickness and wanderlust, nostalgia and immediacy. Sylvan Esso acknowledges that the world is a tumult of complications by giving you a way to sing and dance with those troubles, if not to will them away altogether.


  1. Hey Mami
  2. Dreamy Bruises
  3. Could I Be
  4. Wolf
  5. Dress
  6. H.S.K.T.
  7. Coffee
  8. Uncatena
  9. Play It Right
  10. Come Down

Standard Black Vinyl LP includes Digital Download Card.

Released May 13, 2014 (US) // June 2, 2014 (EU/UK).

Digital Track List

  1. 1 01 Hey Mami 3:20 Buy

    01 Hey Mami

  2. 2 02 Dreamy Bruises 4:08 Buy

    02 Dreamy Bruises

  3. 3 03 Could I Be 4:39 Buy

    03 Could I Be

  4. 4 04 Wolf 3:15 Buy

    04 Wolf

  5. 5 05 Dress 3:49 Buy

    05 Dress

  6. 6 06 H.S.K.T. 4:17 Buy

    06 H.S.K.T.

  7. 7 07 Coffee 4:28 Buy

    07 Coffee

  8. 8 08 Uncatena 4:15 Buy

    08 Uncatena

  9. 9 09 Play It Right 3:04 Buy

    09 Play It Right

  10. 10 10 Come Down 2:57 Buy

    10 Come Down

Sylvan Esso

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences