Item added to your basket.

Mercedes Marxist 7
Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
2 August 2019
  • Vinyl, 7"


    Limited Edition 7

    • + WAV / FLAC

    In stock, shipping now.

Following the release of 2018's critically acclaimed album ‘Joy as an Act of Resistance’, IDLES are back with two new songs, pulled from the aforementioned album sessions. The Mercedes Marxist 7 contains “Mercedes Marxist” (available as an instant download when pre-ordered) and “I Dream Guillotine - released 2nd August 2019.

Mercedes Marxist was a strange beast for us, after Rottweiler, it was the first song we wrote for Joy as an Act of Resistance. I was pissed off at what I was and where I was: I was sofa surfing on the weekends and spending the weeks looking after my mum. My life balance was way off and this song reflects just how useless I felt. It was me at my worst and without any buoyancy it became catharsis. It was the last splurge from Brutalism so we omitted it. I like it now. Joe x

Praise for Joy as an Act of Resistance:

The Guardian (★★★★)
The Times (★★★★)
NME (★★★★★)
MOJO (★★★★)
DIY (★★★★★)
Dork (★★★★★)
Evening Standard (★★★★)
Crack Magazine (9/10)

Read More
  1. 1 Mercedes Marxist IDLES 3:03 Buy
  2. 2 I Dream Guillotine IDLES 3:56 Buy


IDLES Merchandise

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.