Item added to your cart.

Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 12, 2019
  • Vinyl, 1×LP


    Black vinyl

    In stock, shipping now.

  • CD

    • + MP3

    In stock, shipping now.

  • Cassette

    • + MP3

    In stock, shipping now.

Dogrel speaks to the place of Fontaines D.C. in a broader Irish cultural lineage: the bloodline that is more Behan than Bono, evoking poets such as Kavanagh and Lynott, Chevron and MacGowan and yes, even Joyce in the expression of the universal and profoundly human experience through the prism of the local, the familiar, the real. As Lou Reed did with New York, or Ray Davies with London, or indeed The Smiths with Manchester. It's a through-line that can be discovered in all the best of Irish art, whichever the medium, and the band's intent is drolly embodied in the album's knowing title. To give it its dictionary definition (or close enough for now): crude verse of little artistic worth. The ribald rhymes of the docks, the factories and the early houses. The authentic poetry of the people, which any smart Irish poet knows it is foolish to think oneself above. For in it all is an ineffable beauty, something these young men understand very well.

Vinyl comes with digital download card.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Big FONTAINES D.C. 1:45 Buy
  2. 2 Sha Sha Sha FONTAINES D.C. 2:31 Buy
  3. 3 Too Real FONTAINES D.C. 4:08 Buy
  4. 4 Television Screens FONTAINES D.C. 3:59 Buy
  5. 5 Hurricane Laughter FONTAINES D.C. 4:50 Buy
  6. 6 Roy's Tune FONTAINES D.C. 3:00 Buy
  7. 7 The Lotts FONTAINES D.C. 4:57 Buy
  8. 8 Chequeless Reckless FONTAINES D.C. 2:15 Buy
  9. 9 Liberty Belle FONTAINES D.C. 2:31 Buy
  10. 10 Boys In The Better Land FONTAINES D.C. 5:00 Buy
  11. 11 Dublin City Sky FONTAINES D.C. 4:52 Buy
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.