Item added to your cart.

Marvelous Clouds
Aaron Freeman
Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 5, 2012

Standard Black Vinyl LP includes Digital Download Card (High Quality 320 kbps MP3). Aaron Freeman, better known as Gene Ween of Ween, has stepped out from behind his pseudonym to record his first-ever solo record, Marvelous Clouds. The album features 13 heartfelt interpretations of songs written by the incomparable 20th century poet/songwriter, Rod McKuen.

Marvelous Clouds reunites Freeman with Ben Vaughn, who produced Ween‘s classic 12 Golden Country Greats. The meticulously crafted and stunning result casts Freeman as you’ve never heard him and is sure to prompt a reappraisal of McKuen, who has lived privately and out of the public eye in recent decades.

After running away from home in the 1940’s at age 11, McKuen emerged from the influence of the San Francisco Beat scene to become one of the most prolific and top-selling poets and songwriters of the 20th century, earning two Oscar nominations, one Pulitzer nomination, selling tens of millions of books and records. His songs have been recorded by everyone from Frank Sinatra to Johnny Cash to Madonna.

Having sold over a million albums with Ween worldwide, Freeman’s use of McKuen’s work to articulate one of his most personal efforts to-date marks a new milestone in a career well known for its use of a wide range of vocal styles and song characters.

Mixed by Rich Mouser and recorded at Sonic Boom Room in Venice, CA.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 As I Love My Own Aaron Freeman 3:10 Buy
  2. 2 Jean Aaron Freeman 2:54 Buy
  3. 3 Marvelous Clouds Aaron Freeman 3:58 Buy
  4. 4 A Man Alone Aaron Freeman 3:27 Buy
  5. 5 The Beautiful Strangers Aaron Freeman 3:17 Buy
  6. 6 Doesn't Anybody Know My Name Aaron Freeman 3:49 Buy
  7. 7 One By One Aaron Freeman 2:56 Buy
  8. 8 Pushing the Clouds Away Aaron Freeman 2:34 Buy
  9. 9 The Lovers Aaron Freeman 4:23 Buy
  10. 10 Mr. Kelly Aaron Freeman 3:23 Buy
  11. 11 Love's Been Good to Me Aaron Freeman 3:34 Buy
  12. 12 Lonesome Cities Aaron Freeman 4:08 Buy
  13. 13 The World I Used to Know Aaron Freeman 3:47 Buy
  14. 14 Tamarak Tree (Bonus Track) Aaron Freeman 2:35 Buy
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences