Item added to your cart.

Partisan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 18, 2015

Standard Black Vinyl LP includes Digital Download Card. TORRES knows the darkness. The Brooklyn-based singer-songwriter otherwise known as Mackenzie Scott waits until anything—an idea, an emotion, a memory—gnaws at her, tearing at her fingers and throat until she releases it in song.

Scott escaped the confines of her churning mind in order to find herself by recording Sprinter in the market town of Bridport in Dorset, England; and then at the Bristol studio of Portishead's Adrian Utley. With his guitar riffs and synthesizers lingering in the background like a lowland mist and PJ Harvey's Robert Ellis and Ian Olliver on rhythm—the two fortuitously reuniting 23 years after the release of Dry, and in Scott's 23rd year of living—she crafted a "space cowboy" record. "That's as simply as I can say it," says Scott, who cites inspirations as diverse as Funkadelic and Nirvana, Ray Bradbury and Joan Didion.

"I wanted something that very clearly stemmed from my Southern conservative roots but that sounded futuristic and space-y at the same time." It seems like an odd thing to look for in the picturesque seaside green, rolling hills in the south of England, but Scott had never been there before, and as a stranger in a strange land she found what she was looking for: a lost childhood. Sprinter was recorded in a room that had formerly been used as a children's nursery, which combined with the alien landscape fuels the self-searching that roils TORRES' music.

Following her self-titled debut in 2013, TORRES pushes herself to even noisier extremes on Sprinter, a punishing self-examination of epic spiritual and musical proportions.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Strange Hellos Torres 3:55 Buy
  2. 2 New Skin Torres 5:16 Buy
  3. 3 Son You Are No Island Torres 4:28 Buy
  4. 4 A Proper Polish Welcome Torres 5:04 Buy
  5. 5 Sprinter Torres 4:44 Buy
  6. 6 Cowboy Guilt Torres 2:49 Buy
  7. 7 Ferris Wheel Torres 7:01 Buy
  8. 8 The Harshest Light Torres 4:07 Buy
  9. 9 The Exchange Torres 7:48 Buy
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences